The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced today that its Board of Governors voted to present Academy Honorary Awards to Angela Bassett, Mel Brooks and editor Carol Littleton and the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award to the Sundance
Institute’s Michelle Satter.
 The four Oscar® statuettes will be presented at the Academy’s 14th
Governors Awards event on Saturday, November 18, 2023, at the Fairmont Century
Plaza in Los Angeles.

   “The Academy’s Board of Governors is thrilled to honor four trailblazers who
have transformed the film industry and inspired generations of filmmakers and
movie fans,” said Academy President Janet Yang. “Across her decades-long
career, Angela Bassett has continued to deliver transcendent performances that
set new standards in acting.  Mel Brooks lights up our hearts with his
humor, and his legacy has made a lasting impact on every facet of
entertainment. Carol Littleton’s career in film editing serves as a model for
those who come after her.  A pillar of the independent film community,
Michelle Satter has played a vital role in the careers of countless filmmakers
around the world.”


      Bassett’s career has established her as one of the most esteemed actors of her
time.  Her breakthrough role as Tina Turner in “What’s Love Got to Do with
It” earned her an Oscar nomination for Best Actress.  Her film credits
include “Boyz N the Hood,” “Malcolm X,” “Waiting to Exhale,” “How Stella Got
Her Groove Back,” “Music of the Heart,” “Sunshine State,” “Black Panther,”
“Mission: Impossible – Fallout,” “Avengers: Endgame,” “Soul” and “Black
Panther: Wakanda Forever,” in which her supporting performance earned her a
second Oscar nomination.  Her television credits include “The Jacksons: An
American Dream,” “The Rosa Parks Story,” “American Horror Story” and “9-1-1.”


      Director, producer, writer and actor Mel Brooks
began his career writing comedy routines for Sid Caesar’s television shows and
co-created the television series “Get Smart.”  In 1967, he wrote and
directed his first film, “The Producers,” which earned him an Oscar for
Original Screenplay and which he later adapted into a hit Broadway musical.
 His films include “The Twelve Chairs,” “Blazing Saddles,” “Young
Frankenstein,” “Silent Movie,” “High Anxiety,” “History of the World – Part I,”
“Spaceballs,” “Life Stinks,” “Robin Hood: Men in Tights” and “Dracula: Dead and
Loving It.”



      Littleton’s career as a film editor spans nearly five decades.  In 1982,
she earned an Oscar nomination for Film Editing for her work on “E.T. The
Extra-Terrestrial.”  Her other notable credits include “Body Heat,” “The
Big Chill,” “Places in the Heart” and “The Manchurian Candidate.”  She has
served as governor of the Academy’s Film Editors Branch, president and vice
president of the Motion Picture Editors Guild and on the Board of Directors of
American Cinema Editors.



     Satter is the founding senior director of the
Sundance Institute’s Artist Programs, focused on the cultural impact of
supporting independent storytellers.  In her more than 40 years in this
role at the nonprofit, she has discovered and fostered the careers of hundreds
of notable and award-winning filmmakers, many from underrepresented communities.
 She has also led the Sundance Institute’s international initiatives in
Asia, Europe, India, Latin America and the Middle East.  She founded and
oversees the vision and content of Sundance Collab, a global digital
storytelling community and learning platform.

     The Honorary Award, an Oscar statuette, is given “to honor extraordinary
distinction in lifetime achievement, exceptional contributions to the state of
motion picture arts and sciences, or for outstanding service to the Academy.”

     The Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award, also an Oscar statuette, is given “to an
individual in the motion picture arts and sciences whose humanitarian efforts
have brought credit to the industry.”

     The 14th Governors Awards is proudly supported by Rolex, the Exclusive Watch of
the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

2023 Rych McCain Media/Syndication TM

(You DID Hear It From Me!) 

  Twitter, Facebook and LinkedIn 


Follow Me On This Blog.

The Button At The Top Right Of This Page Is Now Open. Please Hit It!